Sunday Funday!

I love Sundays. Here is how we spent our day.

We started by laying down some new straw for the goats. The chickens seemed to really enjoy it.

Image

We also noticed that a couple of chickens were laying eggs in weird places – like a bucket of oyster shells and the goats’ hay feeder. What the heck girls?

Image

Mike played with Napoleon a little bit. He is doing much, much better.

Image

Then we got to work building some new killing cones. We had been using a construction cone but it was too big and sloppy. I looked online to order a couple of killing cones but at $30/each plus shipping I figured we should just make them ourselves. Various plans online suggested a sheet of aluminum from the hardware store but at $18/each we decided the flashing Mike had in the garage would work just fine.

Image

And yep. It worked just fine. Six roosters was four too many. Sorry guys.

Image

After the butchering we needed a break so we checked on our asparagus patch. Woohoo! We transplanted about half of our patch from the old place and it is kickin’ ass!

Image

The we walked down to my dad’s to deliver some eggs and have a snack courtesy of my brother. Delicious!

Image

After the butchering and before the shish-kabob break I put one of the roosters into the oven with a little water, some peppercorns, and a couple of bay leaves. Low and slow. I took him out a couple hours later and picked the meat from his bones. I strained the stock and started some buttermilk biscuits. I froze the biscuits and got to work on the roux (I do a 4:6 fat to flour ratio).

And then there was gravy. Mmm…..gravy.

Image

The cast iron skillet was my great grandma’s. I bet she made chicken gravy in the same skillet in the same kitchen 60 years ago. Pretty cool.

Everything went into the fridge (biscuits in the freezer) and we’ll have chicken and biscuits for dinner Monday night.

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life while simultaneously working full-time jobs and raising two kids. It's a gas!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Sunday Funday!

  1. Pingback: Date Night! | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a comment