Date Night!

Mike and I had a very romantic Saturday. Let me share how we keep our love alive.

When I got home from the Haymaker Farmers’ Market I made us lunch – black bean and butternut squash quesadillas. Then we headed out back to the garden and picked everything that was left worth picking.

Here is Mike with a monster zucchini and one of his gourds.

mike with gourdsAnd here is me with my best crop – zinnias! I have enjoyed fresh cut flowers in every room all summer and fall!

me and zinniasPlease note that the two things that did the best this year – zinnias and gourds – aren’t even edible. Cripes!

This is my “our garden was a real disappointment this year and I can’t believe it’s going to frost next week” face.

me in garden2 Just as I was feeling sad this little guy flew up and landed on Mike’s hand!

butterflyHe should probably be in warmer climates by now. Not sure why he’s sticking around this place.

Here is what we ended up with – various peppers, a couple of small watermelons, several butternut  and acorn squash, zucchini, and tomatillos. Lots of tomatillos.

fianly harvestWe’ll pickle most of the peppers. And I’ll freeze some of them as well. We’ll keep the squash in a dry, cool place and enjoy them throughout the winter. The monster zukes – probably grate and freeze for zucchini bread and things like that. As for all those tomatillos – I’ll make salsa verde and chili base and I may even try jamming some of those suckers. And I’ll probably give some away too.

After a lovely, rainy time in the garden we rounded up some chickens for butchering. Talk about romance!

Saturday night! Saturday night!

We had three broilers  that I snagged from my friend Janee a few weeks back. They needed to fatten up a bit and fatten up they did. (Maybe too fat. We probably should’ve butchered them a week or two ago. Oh well. Sometimes life gets away from you). We also had two roosters – a random TSC leftover from chick days and an Easter Egger. We simply had too many cocks in the coop which is why those two had to go.

We had nice sharp knives thanks to Mr. Noon.

knivesFYI – Noon Sharpening is not going to be at the winter market this year so this coming Saturday (10/26) is his last day in Kent until next season!

We use killing cones. I think we’ve talked about those on a past blog post.

chickens in conesSince it was cold and rainy we worked in Mike’s shop. We had four walls and running water – score!

I’ll spare you the bloody pics but I did want to share one cool photo that I took while Mike was butchering. For all of you who ask about our chickens’ diet – here ya’ go.

chicken gulletOur chickens peck around outside all day so they graze quite a bit. We do supplement with feed – a layer mash from our local feed mill for the laying hens and a commercial grower for our meat birds and turkey(s). But as you can see, even the meat birds prefer to forage.

But the real secret to our love and to keeping our romance alive is how gorgeous I look while chicken butchering.

Moral of the story is desire is important….

plucking chickensAlso, enjoying a meal of homegrown roast chicken (or buttermilk fried chicken or grilled chicken or chicken chili verde or a a zillion other chicken dishes) over the winter is pretty damn sexy.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Date Night!

  1. Andrea says:

    This made me smile! Thank you!

  2. Mary says:

    I should have known…this date night was not x-rated.

  3. Anonymous says:

    you two are simply my favorite.

  4. gruich says:

    For someone who can’t handle or dislikes horror movies, you are quite the badass! Note to self – ask Lizette about the cones.

  5. Ha! I’m glad our romance could make you all smile and laugh. Just wait till we start renovating our bathroom – talk about exciting Saturday nights!! Stay tuned. 🙂

  6. Pingback: The week of the crock pot | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

