Cherry Clafoutis

A couple of weeks ago we picked up our sour cherry order from Walnut Drive Gardens. The cherries come pitted in their own juice in 10# and 30# tubs from H&W  Farms in MI. They are delicious!

We make jams (Wild Turkey Cherry Jam, Berry Cherry Jam, and Rhubarb Cherry Jam to name a few) and we strain the juice for a very traditional Sour Cherry Jelly. Mmm…

We also order extra cherries for ourselves. Diane and I both ordered 10# tubs for “home consumption.” Diane baked a homemade cherry pie and it was out of sight. I did a cherry cobbler, froze a bunch, and also made one of my all-time favorite cherry desserts – Cherry Clafoutis a la Julia Child.

It is simple and I always have everything on hand. It is delicious. I would even go so far as to use the pretentious adjective “exquisite” to describe cherry clafoutis. It is just awesome.

Aside from being an excellent dessert, clafoutis is also a perfect brunch food. It’s custard like and is also known as French flan. And while cherries are the traditional fruit used in clafoutis you can really use just about any berry.

Mastering the Art if French Cooking

(Or find Julia’s recipe online at food.com)

20150803_204439Since it’s custardy you make a batter and it’s all done in your blender – no stand mixer required! I like to use my cast iron skillet but you could use any oven safe skillet or baking dish.

Ready for the oven. Now for the waiting…..

20150803_204112

Roughly an hour later one of my most favorite things comes out and it looks gorgeous!

20150803_213633It’s best served warm. And you better believe I had a huge slice after I let it “cool” for about 10 minutes. Mmm!!

Do yourself a favor and make some clafoutis!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

