Enjoying what we ‘put up’ over the summer

Man, my home canning took a serious hit this summer.

The newborn took some getting used to and most of my time and energy went to her and not my garden or my larder shelves. I did manage to ‘put up‘ a few things though, including a serious essential: tomato sauce.

I blogged about making my neck bone sauce back in 2013 and I continue to adapt and evolve my recipe. I think I’ve really mastered it now. My pal Kristen at Black Dog Acres even shared my recipe over on her blog.

Thanks (once again this year) to my pal Marcella and her green thumb for tomatoes. Hopefully one day I’ll figure out how to successfully grow my own!

Last night I heated up a quart of neck bone sauce and we enjoyed it with some pasta.

Ellie, no longer a newborn but now a solid food enjoying 8-month-old, seemed to love it. Score.

macaroni

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

