Happy Birthday Countryside Conservancy!

Saturday I had to work at my day job so I couldn’t attend the Haymaker Farmers’ Market in Kent (womp. womp). However, I totally lucked out and just a few blocks from work the Countryside Conservancy had partnered with the Akron-Summit County Public Library and the Akron Art Museum to host a pretty outstanding 10th anniversary bash.

I took a break before we opened to the public and headed down to the celebration.

Market vendors were set up at both locations and they even had birthday cake!

Cake makes for a great breakfast!

photo8I signed the giant birthday card and then set out to stock up on some local eats.

photo 5 (2)I scored all kinds of goodies. I snagged one of those killer almond pastries from my friends at Trigo’s Bakery and a DELICIOUS cup of coffee from the Crooked River Coffee Company.

photo 2 (3)Their brewed by the cup coffee was outstanding – especially alongside a delicious piece of West Side Bakery birthday cake!

I picked up some chorizo and Candian bacon from Brunty Farms with the thought of a pretty stellar Sunday morning breakfast in mind. And once I’m done with my cup of coffee and this blog post I’m going to get started on that!

photo 7I stopped at Summit Croissants to pick up a palmier for the student assistant who was scheduled to work the front desk. It was the least I could do. Seriously, who the heck likes to work on a Saturday?

photo 4I saw my pal Phil from Breezy Hill Farms but his line was CRAZY long and I was on a bit of a time crunch so I just said hello and carried on.

photo 6Notice how Phil’s stock was already running low? I took this picture around 10:20 or so (the market opened at 10). Wowza! The crowd was crazy for local greens!

I picked up some pappardelle from my friends at Ohio City Pasta and then my last stop at the ASCPL was Happy Thyme Garden’s booth for some amazing looking shiitake mushrooms.

001The mushrooms are gorgeous. I’m planning on just lightly sautéing them in a little oil and garlic (per the mushroom man’s advice) and maybe tossing them with the pappardelle. We’ll see.

I was running out of cash by this point and hadn’t even crossed the street yet! I headed over to the art museum and spent the last of my money on a big bag of kale from Red Basket Farm. That kale will be great with the Brunty chorizo in a nice soup.

I had a fantastic time at the anniversary celebration. It was awesome to see such a huge turn out to support the market. The Countryside Conservancy is a pretty radical organization and they do a lot for the local food and farming scene – markets, classes, seminars. When I lived in Akron I loved heading down to the Howe Meadow market on Saturday mornings. And even as an out-of-towner I still truck over to the Highland Square Market on Thursday afternoons in the summer to see my gals from Huffman Fruit Farm (Gah! I miss your berries and stone fruits. Come on summer!).

I missed my pals in Kent this Saturday and was again reminded of how grateful I am that the Haymaker Farmers’ Market is open year-round. We are a dedicated bunch over there in Kent and I am proud to be a part of it!

Oh, and if you’re jonesin’ for some Barton Farms and Gardens jam we’ll be back with our Haymaker friends at the United Methodist Church on Saturday, April 19. See you then.

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday Countryside Conservancy!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday! | Barton Farms and Gardens

  2. Pingback: It’s not all spareribs and cheesy, meaty breakfast sandwiches over here folks! | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

