Breakneck Spare Ribs

By now you should know about Breakneck Acres and my pal Breakneck Ami. I love Breakneck. I love their finely milled whole wheat flour and corn meal. I love their fresh veggies in the summer. And I especially love their pork.

Let’s talk about pork. It is hands down the best animal protein. Do not even bother to argue with me. For real. Just don’t.

Of course I love a perfectly roasted chicken with crispy skin as much as the next guy. And fried chicken – it is exquisite. And boy oh boy do I love me some smoked beef brisket and a rare steak. I love “game” like venison and rabbit and a good leg of lamb is delicious. And of course, anything that comes from the sea or a lake is delightful. But nothing, and I mean nothing, compares to pork.

I have the honor of awarding a special prize to Mr. Zuckerman, in token of our appreciation of this pig, this RADIANT, this TERRIFIC, this HUMBLE pig.

CharlotteWeb

The obvious number 1 pork item is BBQ. North Carolina style pulled pork shoulder or chopped whole hog to be exact. I still dream about you Skylight Inn….

And aside from BBQ there is sausage (like a zillion kinds!), carnitas, tenderloin roasts, pork chops, bacon. Bacon for God’s sakes! And this list goes on and on.

And when pork is good it is oh so good. But those thin, limp, pale chops you’re getting at your big box grocer are nothin’ compared to the delicious pork from the Berkshire hogs Ami & Tim are raising over at Breakneck.

Ok, that’s enough ass kissing. Let’s get to the ribs.

Barton Farms & Gardens Breakneck Spare Ribs

1 package Breakneck Acres spare ribs (about 1 1/2 lbs)

1/4 c. dark brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. garlic powder

little bit of ground black pepper

pinch of cayenne

1/4 c. apple cider vinegar

Preheat your oven to 300F. Line a baking sheet with a layer of foil – shiny side up – or two layers if you have really puny foil. Mix the sugar and your spices together and rub the mixture all over your ribs. Really work it in. Lay your ribs meat side down on the foil and cover with another layer of foil. Crimp up three edges and pour your vinegar into the foil packet through the remaining open side. Then crimp that side up.

Bake these in your oven for about 2 – 2  1/2 hours until they are tender and the meat is pulling from the bones.

Remove from the oven and preheat your broiler. Pour the vinegar/cooking liquid into a small sauce pan and reduce by about 1/3. Flip your ribs so they are meat side up and spoon the glaze all over. Broil just a minute or two until the sugar in the glaze caramelizes and your ribs are lookin’ good.

EAT!

Ribs_March2014This crappy photo really doesn’t do these babies justice but I was too hungry to piss around with a second shot. Plus Mike was right behind me breathing down my neck, “Can we eat them already?!”

Mike’s take, “Damn these are f&$^ing good. I wish we had like 4 more racks of them.”

And as I licked the glaze from my fingers I thought to myself, “We really need to start raising our own pigs….”

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

