Food Swap!

Tuesday was the monthly Countryside Conservancy Food Swap.  I love a good food swap!

This month I took six 4oz jars of my lemon curd (each paired with two frozen mini buttermilk biscuits that the swapper could bake fresh and use as a vehicle for the lemon curd) and three dozen eggs. I took two mixed size dozens and then I also took a dozen bantam eggs from our Silver Duckwing Old English Game bantam hen (Josephine) and our Golden Sebright Bantam hen (Maire Antoinette). They’re so tiny and cute and the yolk to white ratio is superb!

I had nine swapables on hand. And boy did I make out! Check out all the goodies I took home.

photo 2A pint of hard lemonade, Patti’s lemon pizzelles, Deneen’s orange blossom meringues, local honey from Tom & Chris (aka Bee Natural Honey Farm), an assortment of cookies from Tom, spicy mustard from Courtney, kale pesto chips from Judy, choclate mint bars from Jenalle,  and smoked roasted red pepper spread from Carla.

Dude! What a haul!

I ate most of the kale chips on my drive home and then Mike and I sampled everything once I got there. He said the orange blossom meringues were akin to a “way better version of space ice cream” and “this mustard is awesome and clears the sinuses!”

Everything is so tasty and I came home a very happy gal.

The swaps are always the third Tuesday of the month and I really encourage you to participate if this kind of thing interests you. It really is a great group of people and everyone is so talented. It’s impossible to leave feeling disappointed.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

