We’re baaaaaaaack……

We’ll be back at the Haymaker Farmers’ Market this Saturday (February 8) so come and see us! Remember, we’re scheduled to be at the market on the second Saturday of the month until the summer season starts and then we’ll be back full-time.

A couple of weeks ago I made some Blueberry Jam so we’ll be bringing that with us. Plain, ol’ blueberry. Delicious.

photo 3And by special request I did a batch of Strawberry Jam the other night. Our dear market friend Denise called me up and said she needed some strawberry jam for her daughter. I hate to disappoint so I said, “Of course!”

strawbStrawberry jam is one of my favorites. It’s a classic. It reminds me of my grandma. And since strawberries are the first berries of the season when they show up in late May/early June I am just pleased as punch.

This ratio for this batch was 3lbs berries : 1 1/2 lbs. sugar. I picked these last summer and this bag appears to be the last of the strawberries in my freezer. Womp. Womp.

Notice how the berries are whole?

I kick it old school when it comes to my jam making. Kickin’ it old school means no added commercial pectin and that requires a much longer cook time. If I started with chopped berries there would be no texture left at all by the time it’s finished cooking. When I make Mike’s sugar-laden strawberry jam the cook time is about a 1/4 of the time a batch of the old fashioned takes. It takes a long time but it’s totally worth it. Fantastic.

My yield was just 9 jars so it won’t last long. Do yourself a favor and pick some up Saturday morning.

And I’ll have one other flavor too – Rhubarb & Red Raspberry Jam. I’m going to start that one as soon as I finish sipping my hot chocolate.

Three new flavors of jam, homemade biscuits, fresh eggs, AND our smiling faces this Saturday morning at the United Methodist Church from 10am-1pm. Hopefully we’ll see you there!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

