Citrus Obsession

I am currently really obsessed with citrus – especially lemons and clementines. I cannot get enough of these fruits. It helps that they’re in season right now so the stuff they’re shipping in from CA is at its peak. Mmm….sweet, sour, delicious citrus. I like how when you eat too much your mouth kinda starts to hurt. Is that weird?

I usually have no less than a dozen lemons in my crisper at any given time and we always have fresh eggs so lemon curd seemed like the obvious way to kill some time during the polar vortex.

I posted a comment about making lemon curd on our facebook page and my cousin commented, “Nothing called curd could be very tasty.” Oh dear Mr. Nickles. How wrong you are. The most obvious and totally awesome curd is cheese curds. Don’t tell me you’ve never had poutine! And lemon curd is the second most awesome curd. You need more curds in your life!

Ok, ok that’s enough public shaming.

So, back to lemon curd. It’s delicious and it’s easy and you should make some. I used the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe.

You start by adding a ton of lemon zest and some sugar to your food processor and processing it until it’s very fine. Then you cream some butter and beat in the lemon/sugar mix. Add some eggs and the juice from the zested lemons and then this all goes into a saucepan.

Cook over low heat until it starts to thicken (around 170F)

001Once it’s nice and thick it needs to cool. I poured mine into jelly jars and then stuck it in the fridge for a while.

002While the lemon curd was cooling I thought to myself, “I should make some pound cake.” So I did. My recipe gave me enough batter for two loaf pans so I actually made two pound cakes. No worries. Turns out we had no trouble at all eating two cakes. And when I say “we” I really mean “me.” I think Mike had like two slices. Ha!

Killer polar vortex dessert

003This was so, so, so good. Homemade sour cream pound cake with lemon curd on top and homemade lemon ice cream with blueberry sauce courtesy of my father-in-law. (No complaints here about his current obsession with the Jeni’s cookbook I loaned him. Keep ’em comin’ Keith!)

So the moral of the story is citrus is probably the best flavor on the planet and curds are delicious.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Citrus Obsession

  1. Monica Dague says:

    Ugh! That looks so good! And about the ‘shaming of your cousin’, it was well deserved! Keep up the good work Liz!

Leave a Reply

