A new post! (aka we survived the polar vortex)

I am blaming everything on the polar vortex. Mostly my very unmotivated behavior as of late. Seriously, who wants to do anything in this?!

polar vortexIt is simply too cold to accomplish anything around the house other than curling up under a blanket with hot cocoa. And I guess that includes sitting at my computer and working on a blog post. Mike did manage to drag me out of the house Monday (snow day!) for some remodel shopping and while we didn’t buy any toilets or sinks I did take a lot of notes and I (somewhat) came to terms with my sticker shock. And we did buy all the stuff needed to rough in the plumbing.

I am not a big fan of hardware stores. Mostly because we’re always in there forever and I get bored and hungry. I asked Mike one time, “Why does it always take so long?” His response, “Cuz we’re not rich. Rich people just go in and get what they need or they pay a contractor to do it. We have to look at everything and price everything and think about everything.” Valid.

Careful and considerate shopping

hardware storeOnce we got home Mike took me upstairs to review.

First, our remodeling mascot. He supervises while I’m at work or curled up on the couch.

001This is where the toilet will be. I am very much looking forward to having a toilet upstairs. Going downstairs at 2am to pee in the darkness (and during the polar vortex no less!) is for the birds.

005_toiletAnd this will be where my claw foot soaking tub and our sinks will go. I am envisioning gazing out the window while soaking in the tub with a glass of wine….

002_tub and sink And we’ll need a place to store towels and toiletries. We’ll have some built in cabinetry here.

004_cabinetAnd our dream shower will be here.

003_showerThis will be the crown jewel of the new bathroom – a tiled, walk in shower with two heads. There will be plenty of water pressure and I will be able to take the screamin’ hot showers I love. I am so excited about this. I have dealt with some crappy showers in my day.

Back when I was a solo dweller in the swingin’ bachelorette pad I had a very, very tiny shower. Way too small for a gal my size. And when I moved in with Mike we had a shower with pipes that constantly froze. They certainly would’ve been no match for this polar vortex. The current owner of that house probably hasn’t showered in weeks. And then we moved into the farmhouse and I had to use that pink, no pressure, constantly-backed-up- drain shower. I am sick of mediocre showers.

This week “we’ll” get the whole thing roughed in and then hopefully we can start making some decisions about toilets and sinks and what not.

The animals are also surviving the polar vortex. The goats have their thick winter coats and are eating machines. (FYI – increased caloric intake is very important for animals over the winter). The other day Mike hung our Christmas tree in the barn. They are snacking on the canaan fir and are loving it!

goats and xmas treeAnd the chickens – well, they’re doing ok. We have a very old and very drafty chicken coop. We did out best to winterize a bit but this damned polar vortex and the negative temperatures are doing a number on some of our birds. Sadly, both Napoleon and Sue got frostbite on their combs. Good thing the previous tenants left that old tin of bag balm in the medicine cabinet!

chickensMike has been cleaning their combs daily and applying bag balm at least once a day. We’ve increased their food and are giving them plenty of kitchen scraps too. And he picked up some chickie electrolytes at TSC the other day and he has been adding that to their water. We have deep bedding in the coop and tomorrow after work I’ll stop at pick up several more bags of wood shavings so we can add another thick layer.

Hang in there birds! And polar vortex be damned!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A new post! (aka we survived the polar vortex)

  1. Aunt Deb says:

    So the tub and shower are going in what used to be Gma Royer’s kitchen, right? From the pics the shower will be where the porcelain table use to be and the tub where the sink use to be?

Leave a Reply

