Sunday Funday

Any good Sunday starts with a good breakfast. Which of course includes breakfast potatoes. You’re probably sick of hearing me talk about them. Ha!

I cooked these in the brand new pan my brother got my for Christmas. Awesome.

photo 1Along with the potatoes we had bacon, dippy eggs, and sourdough toast with jam and butter. I snagged the sourdough from Trigo’s Bakery at the market Saturday morning. It was so, so, so good. I’m thinking maybe making shakshuka this week so I can dunk the bread in it. Mmm….

After breakfast I cleaned up the kitchen and then finally got around to packing up Christmas. I was a little sad to pack up all of the ornaments and the stockings and holiday knick knacks. Our canaan fir courtesy of the Happinest is still going strong though. It’s in great shape. I wonder if the goats would eat it…..

After packing up the holidays I moved on to some jam and Mike went back to the basement to tackle the new pipes and fittings for the washer and dryer.

Simple, delicious blueberry jam.

jamI posted a photo of this jam on Facebook and one of our market friends commented, “Just plain blueberry?” Haha! Yep. Plain, ol’ blueberry. No bourbon or vanilla beans or funky herbs and spices. Just blueberries, sugar, and lemon juice. And it’s delicious!

And while the jam was cooking I did a little multitasking and made crème brûlée. We had several cracked eggs we couldn’t take to market Saturday and besides wanting to use those up I thought making Mike his favorite dessert would be a nice thank you for all of his hard work this week.

I love crème brûlée. Love, love, love it. And so does Mike.  It’s one of my favorite desserts and if I see it on a dessert menu I will most certainly order it. Some people try to church it up and that’s fine. But plain vanilla crème brûlée is really where it’s at. I use Alton Brown’s recipe. It’s easy and delicious so I thought I would share.

Perfect Sunday Night Crème Brûlée

1 quart heavy cream
1 vanilla bean, split and scraped
1/2 c. sugar
6 large egg yolks
hot water

Preheat your oven to 325F and put your tea kettle on.

Add the cream, vanilla bean and its pulp to a saucepan and bring to a boil over med-high heat. (Don’t let it boil over. Look away for one second and it will happen. I do it like 3 out of 4 times. Ugh!) Remove from the heat, cover and let it steep for about 15 minutes. Remove the vanilla bean (you can reuse).

In a mixing bowl whisk together the sugar and the egg yolks. Add the cream a little at a time (I use a ladle) and whisk constantly. You add just a little at a time because you don’t want the warm cream to scramble the eggs. This is known as tempering if you didn’t already know that.

Pour the liquid into ramekins. You could use 6 smaller ramekins or you could do it in the Barton style and use 3 large souffle ramekins. It’s go big or go home at our place.

Place the ramekins into a baking pan and add enough hot water to come about halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake just until the crème brûlée is set, but still trembling in the center, about 40 to 45 minutes. Remove the ramekins from the roasting pan and refrigerate for at least 2 hours and up to 3 days.

Once chilled and set remove from the fridge and sprinkle a layer of sugar on top of each ramekin. Using a torch, melt the sugar and form a crispy top. Allow the crème brûlée to sit for at least 5 minutes before serving.

Of course you can use the little butane torch specifically for kitchen tasks or you can use a torch that has been cutting/welding copper plumbing all week. It’s up to you.

photo 5Hope you all had a great weekend!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Funday

  1. Pingback: We’re baaaaaaaack…… | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

