Tear down the house that I grew up in. I’ll never be the same again….

We’re not actually tearing down the house. But some major changes are underway.               Ol’ pinky and Great Grandma’s kitchen are unrecognizable to those of us who grew up and/or spent the majority of our lives on the farm.

You may remember that way back when we first moved in to the farmhouse in April we deemed the bathroom as project number 1. I am soooooo excited it is underway! But I am less excited with all the dust and dirt and inconvenience of having to trudge downstairs at 1am to pee.

Mike started demoing the old kitchen before the holiday break and the demo continued over the last week and moved into the bathroom. After he gutted the old kitchen it was time to rip out ol’ pinky aka the bathroom.

First, the shower.

001and002

Eww….

004

No big whoop though cuz we were ripping it all out anyways.

005After we cleaned out all the debris it was time to start getting the bathroom tile up. You can kind of see how the floor in the bathroom is raised up. Ripping up the old tile was a very dirty job. The putty or whatever it is they put underneath tile was very thick and very crumbly.

FYI – both of us always wear respirators. Safety first!

008and010While Mike ripped up stuff I tossed big chunks out the window and into the bed of the dump truck.

013Straight back on the left you can see the shower hook up and a hint of weird old wallpaper. Mike ripped out that bit of wall and stumbled across a pretty big surprise. Or as my friend Megos described it, “the stuff that nightmares are made of.”

014_hornetYep, that is an ENORMOUS old hornets nest. Thankfully there were no live hornets but good god! Talk about the heebie jeebies.

And here is another photo for scale. Ick!

015_hornet2I stopped taking pics around this point but now there is nothing left but the toilet. Everything else is ripped out and the walls are all down to the bare bones. The next steps (I think) are insulation and drywall.

And I guess Mike was having a helluva time ripping stuff out because then he moved on to the shelves and closet in our bedroom (which butts up to the bathroom).

016and017In classic Barton fashion this job proved to be about 2x harder than it should’ve been. Why? The shelves were built into the ceiling and floor. So ripping them out also involved some ceiling and floor destruction which means those will have to be fixed now too. Sigh….

Oh, and what’s that behind the shelves? An old chimney? Why not?!

020We both agreed the exposed brick is kinda cool though so it may stay. After he tore out most of the closet we discovered that it was built right up against the bathroom to cover an old window.

This room was added on in the 1960s as an extra bedroom and in the old days the bathroom had a window to the outside. It wasn’t properly walled over and instead the back of the closet was just particle board. Mike will need to drywall this as well.

After several days of destruction and dust and respirators we were glad to spend some time outside on Sunday in the fresh air. We pitched out the goat barn, patched some drafty spots in the chicken coop, played with the animals a bit, and tooled around the yard plotting and scheming about spring.

And then I collapsed on the couch with some dinner and “30 Rock.”

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tear down the house that I grew up in. I’ll never be the same again….

  1. Viper says:

    I don’t know. Mike might be my hero. I wish I knew how to do half the stuff he does. Good luck with the winter projects. Cheers!

  2. He will be thrilled to hear that so I’ll tell him! I asked him once how he learned all this stuff – remodeling, auto repair, plumbing. He really can do it all (which is awesome for me). His reply (seriously) “I just keep f%&#ing with stuff until I figure it out.” Haha!!

Leave a Reply

