Thanksgiving Recap

Hello All! I hope if you celebrate Thanksgiving you had a wonderful holiday. And the same if you celebrate Hanukkah. Also, how cool was it that that the start of Hanukkah fell on the same day as Thanksgiving. Can you imagine the feasting? Mmm!

I traveled out to Connecticut to spend Thanksgiving with my mom and youngest brother. Me, Mike, and my other brother piled into his jeep and made the (at times grueling) eight hour drive east.

We enjoyed the traditional Thanksgiving fare – turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy (made from my homemade turkey stock!), roasted butternut squash (from our garden), brussel sprouts, rolls, and the delicious cranberries in port I scored at the recent Countryside Conservancy food swap.

Then we had two days (Friday and Saturday) to spend some time at the ocean and gorge ourselves on seafood. And we gorged.

Friday morning I made myself one of my all-time favorite sandwiches. I call it “the morning after.”

breakfast sammie

Turkey, stuffing, cheese, and a dippy egg on a toasted English muffin. This. Is. Killer. It’s in my top five sandwiches for sure. Maybe my top three. Dippy eggs over stuffing is just so delicious. If you have not tried this please do so and prepare for your mind to be blown. For real. And why the hell do we only have stuffing once a year?

After breakfast and coffee and Weird Science we bundled up and piled into my mom’s car for Jennings Beach.

005_jenningsbeachWe walked for quite a while and ended up seeing the sunset here as well.

006_jenningssunsetThe ocean is so awesome. I love it so much. Even in the freezing cold it is magic.

We had worked up quite an appetite and on my youngest brother’s suggestion we headed to the USS Chowder Pot in Hartford. I only had one thing on my mind – the quintessential CT original hot lobster roll.  If you have never had one of these then you have not lived.

Warm, buttery lobster chunks on a toasted bun. Its simplicity is what makes it great. I could live on these sandwiches. I will add this to my top five along with “the morning after” and the great BLT.

001_hot lobster rollAfter dinner we headed back to mom’s and somehow ended up having a Bill Paxton fest. His appearance earlier in Weird Science inspired us I guess and we watched Indian Summer (one of my all-time favorite movies) and Twister. Paxton Fest 2013!

Saturday we woke up early and headed east to Rhode Island. Our first stop – Fort Wetherill State Park in Jamestown, RI.

It was awesome.

007_wetherillbeachGorgeous bluffs and bright blue water. I desperately wanted to dip my toe but it was really, really cold.

008_wetherill010_wetherillWe spent several hours here. I sunbathed on the rocks and chatted with my mom while the boys explored the coastline – scrambling over rocks and looking for specimens. It was a perfect afternoon.

And then we were hungry again. So we went to Anthony’s in Newport, RI.

As I said earlier the hot lobster roll is a CT original. Most places outside of CT serve a lobster roll salad which is akin to chicken or tuna salad – cold chunks of lobster in a light mayo based sauce. While I prefer the hot lobster the cold lobster salad roll is also pretty damn tasty. So I had one of those.

003_lobster salad rollThe roll is still buttered and toasted and boy oh boy is it delicious.

We also tried their highly reviewed “stuffie” – a stuffed Quahog clam.

002_stuffieGuess what? It was delicious! Man, coastal living is starting to sound (and taste) better and better…..

After our late lunch we headed into Newport to tour The Breakers. The Breakers is an INCREDIBLE historic home on the Newport coast and is part of a consortium of eleven historic mansions operated by the Preservation Society of Newport.

011_breakersIt was built by Cornelius Vanderbilt – the railroad magnate – and it was his family’s summer home. This place was WILD! A prime example of the opulence of the gilded age and just mind blowing.

As is the case with the majority of historic homes photography was prohibited inside the mansion. But check out this shot I took from the backyard – insane!

012_breakersThe Breakers was incredible. I want to go back when we have more time and can tour all eleven homes in the area.

After our tour we headed down Ocean Drive and just gawked at the mansions. Not just historic mansions but everyday homes owned by people who have more money than I can even imagine. Turns out Newport is still an insanely rich area and some of the homes were astonishing.

And finally we stopped at Brenton Beach State Park and luckily we were able to catch the tail end of the sunset.

013_brentonbeachWhat a wonderful holiday weekend!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

