Food Swap

I’ve talked about my love of bartering and food swaps before. Remember I hosted a food swap last month?

Well, yesterday I attended my first “official” food swap hosted by the amazing folks at the Countryside Conservancy. The Countryside Conservancy is the group behind the farmers’ markets in Akron – the Saturday morning Howe Meadow market (or Old Trail school in the winter) and the seasonal Thursday afternoon market in Highland Square.

When I still lived in Akron I was a frequent shopper at those markets and since I still work in Akron I hit the Thursday night market almost every week all summer. My main fruit squeeze Huffman Fruit Farm has a stand there and I also met and fell in love with PopSmith this season. Homemade popsicles from local fruit? Yes please!

So anyways – the Countryside Conservancy is a good group. And they also host monthly food swaps.

Since Tuesday was my birthday I really felt like celebrating. 33 only comes around once in a lifetime and what better way to ring it in than by hanging with like-minded folks and swapping good eats? And speaking of like-minded folks Breakneck Ami was there and some Akron peeps were introduced to her flour, corn meal, and corn grits for the first time. Lucky folks.

I whipped up a batch of White Peach and Wild Turkey Bourbon Jam to swap. I had seven jars and was super pleased when I heard people saying things like, “Oh my gosh is that good” and “It’s so peachy” after sampling. Score!

And check out my score! Happy birthday to me!

photo 2Mexican style hot cocoa mix, chocolate peppermint marshmallow candies, organic granola bars, vanilla bean marshmallows (those are going to be awesome with that hot cocoa), sea salt caramels, vanilla bean sunflower butter, spiced cranberries in a port sauce (hopefully these will last until Thanksgiving!), and Grand Champion chicken salad. AMAZING stuff!

When I got home I needed a sandwich. A sandwich fit for a birthday girl. A grand champion sandwich. Thank you Paula of Hyde Park Farm. Delicious!

photo 3And I kept the good eats rolling with breakfast this morning. The vanilla bean sunflower butter I got from Erin is killer. Oh my goodness. So, so, so good.

photo 4And on a toasted English muffin with a little Black Dog Acres honey – oh man. A great start to my day.

I had a wonderful time at the food swap and I am looking forward to being a more regular attendee. Hopefully I’ll see some of you there next time!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Swap

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recap | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

