Good Eats!

We have eaten really well this week. Lots of good, local eats.

Tuesday night I decided we needed a good meal to make up for the fact that one of my favorite bands was playing in Cleveland but we weren’t going to the show. Instead of seeing Built To Spill live in all their glory I danced around my kitchen with ‘There’s Nothing Wrong With Love‘ on full blast and whipped up some seared venison medallions with a pan sauce, braised leeks, braised rapini, and a baked potato.

First up, the rapini. Rapini, or broccoli rabe, is delicious. We love greens in our house and rapini is a favorite. And lucky for me Breezy Hill Farm grows it in high tunnels and they’ll have it all winter at the farmers’ market. Woot!

Rapini from start to finish

rapini_starttofinishRapini can be a little bitter so to combat that I blanch it in boiling water for just 3 minutes. Then I use tongs to move the rapini to a large bowl of ice water to shock it. Once totally cool I drain it, squeeze out the extra water, and then roughly chop it. I sauteed some onions in a couple of teaspoons of coconut oil and then I added the chopped rapini, the juice & zest of one lemon, 1/4 cup chicken stock, salt, and some red pepper flakes.

This doesn’t take long at all – ten minutes or so.

Leeks. I loooooooooove leeks. We had them last week and I needed them again. Luckily Breakneck Ami came through for me and I snagged her last 6 leeks at the farmers’ market. I braised them again. They were freakin’ awesome.

leeksdone

Vension. I love it. Some people are weirded out by it and I in turn am weirded out by those people because I don’t think they know what’s good.

A week or two ago Mike’s dad got a doe on his back property. And because he is a kick ass dad and father-in-law he gave us the best part – the backstrap (aka the tenderloin). And he gave it to us sliced into nice little medallions.

Like any really good cut of meat you do not need to do much to venison backstrap.

I heated up some oil in a skillet, seasoned the medallions with salt and pepper and seared them for a just a couple of minutes per side. Then I let them rest on a plate under foil while I made a quick pan sauce. I heated the pan back up and threw in some finely diced onion. Cooked just a minute or two and then added some chicken stock and reduced it by half.

It’s no Built To Spill but at least we ate good.

photo 7

Wednesday the good eats continued. It all started with some killer veggies.

Turnips & brussels from Birdsong and carrots from my in-laws

photo 1I washed and chopped and tossed these with a little olive oil. Then they went into my dutch oven to make a nice little bed for the chicken.

photo 2I trussed the bird (kinda) and rubbed him down with some butter and salt and pepper. Then he got roasted.

Meanwhile I made the turnip greens. Again, we’re very big on wilted/braised/sauteed greens. And check it out – more chicken stock!

photo 4This meal was really killer. The chicken juices run down and coat the roasted veggies. It is just awesome. And super, super easy. You could also do this with chicken pieces instead of a whole bird – I would suggest thighs. I’m a thigh woman.

finishedAnd the best part about both of these meals – 100% local!

There may have been snow on the ground this week but that doesn’t mean the fresh, local eats have ended. The Kent Haymaker Farmers’ Market goes YEAR-ROUND (!!) and several of our farmer friends with high tunnels and green houses will have cold weather crops (greens!) for quite some time.

The indoor market is at the United Methodist Church in Kent every Saturday from 10am-1pm. Barton Farms & Gardens will be back for the holiday markets which are scheduled for 12/14 and 12/21.

Have a great weekend. Eat local!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Eats!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday | Barton Farms and Gardens

  2. You may do will to help you Father-in-Law next hunting season when he is carving up his next deer. The back straps come from the top side of the back along the backbone. The Tender Loins are a totaly deferent area, they are located inside the gut cavity on the underside of the back bone from about the back 1/3 between the hips and are generaly 12 inches long on a typical white tale doe.

  3. Terrance – thanks for the comment! I know we always have both cuts when we butcher (I’ve helped my husband in years past) and I guess I have been using the terms interchangeably (and incorrectly) for the two different cuts of meat.

  4. Pingback: Some recent happenings (and good eats) | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

