Sunday Funday

Before I tackle Sunday’s events I need to tell you about the kick ass party I went to on Saturday night. It was a pierogi party! My sister-in-law made the dough and the potato/cheddar filling in advance and a whole group of us hung out and made pierogies.

pierogiesTwo hours later we had over 500 piergies and we each went home with about 5 dozen.

004In addition to the classic potato and cheddar we also had butternut squash/roast garlic/dried cranberries; sweet potato/shallots/roast garlic; and spinach/goat cheese/sun dried tomato. They are all delicious.

And since there was some potato/cheddar filling left my sister-in-law sent us each home with a sandwich bag of the stuff. It later became potato pancakes with dippy eggs for Sunday morning breakfast. So. Good.

005After breakfast we tackled the leaves.

007We have a lot of leaves.

011And I didn’t take any pictures of the massive piles in the side yard and the orchard. Whew. Lots of leaves. Mike used the backpack blower and a push blower and I used an old fashioned rake. Both methods aren’t very fun at all.

We’ll put some directly into the garden and till them in. And we’ll bag up some of these with a little water and let them rot over the winter. Then we’ll add them to the garden in the spring. And the rest – no clue yet. I was thinking of putting a bunch behind the chicken coop for the birds to scratch around in.

I took an afternoon leaf clean-up break to hit Stotler’s Orchard for what will likely be the last time before they close up for the season.

017I filled a half bushel bag with a variety of apples. I’m averaging two apples a day but I think I’ll also can some apple sauce. I am going to be sad when the apples are done and the orchard is closed.

When I got home it was time for a late lunch. Guess what we had?

photo 18Man, Mrs. T has nothin’ on these babies.

After our pierogi break it was back outside to finish ripping up the garden.

photo 19Those gourd vines were a real bitch but everything else ripped right up. We made a big pile of dried old vines and stalks and saved some of the more edible offerings for the goats and chickens. We let the kale go – we’ll keep clipping and eating for a while more still.

This is my “Ok, I’m just about done working for the day” face.

photo 20After this we fed some old collard greens and tomatillos to the goats. And we laid in a big pile of leaves and laughed about the time I cannon balled into a pile and damn near broke my tail bone. Good times.

I didn’t take any photos of our Sunday dinner but since it was 100% local I thought I’d tell you about it. Roasted potatoes care of Birdsong Farm and a massive salad of Breezy Hill arugula and leaf lettuce and some hard boiled eggs from our ladies. And for dessert – pecan shortbread cookies from Busy B Bakery.

And then I crashed. Hard.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Funday

  1. YUM! What a great idea to have a pieroges party!

  2. Pingback: Old Timey Tuesday: The 48 Hours Edition | Barton Farms and Gardens

  3. The pierogi party was awesome. My next goal is to host a cabbage roll/stuffed cabbage party!

Leave a Reply

