First indoor market = LOTS of treats!

Saturday, November 2 is the first indoor farmers’ market of the season. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again – this year the indoor market will be held from 10am-1pm at the United Methodist Church on East Main Street right across from KSU. It’s a nice, big, heated space with plenty of parking and I am thinking the season is going to be pretty rad!

We are taking some time off this winter so after Saturday’s market you won’t see us again until the holiday market on December 14. That’s over a month. Do you have enough delicious jam to last that long? If not, better come see us this weekend!

We’ve been busy this week. Check out all this great stuff we’ll have for you.

First up I did a Blue Raspberry Jam.

Blueberries + Raspberries = Delicious!

photo 4 (2)

And we’re still on a pretty serious pumpkin bender. Our Pumpkin Peanut Butter Cups are back again this week and they are soooooooo good.

Local pie pumpkins roasted and pureed

photo 6

Mix that puree with some natural peanut butter and some local honey and encase it in chocolate – watch out Reese’s. Watch out.

photo 7

I HIGHLY recommend trying our Pumpkin Peanut Butter Cups. And I can do that because I’ve eaten like a dozen of them over that past two weeks!

I’ll also have some Buttermilk Biscuits. Biscuits are wholesome and awesome and they’re just a classic. And served warm with some of our jam – killer!

I’ve been making Buttermilk Biscuits for a long time. I have always been an all-purpose flour kind of gal but several weeks ago I wanted biscuits and all I had in the pantry was some Breakneck Acres whole wheat flour. I really wanted biscuits so I gave it a whirl. They were just as good as always. And then this week I swung by the Breakneck farm stand and picked up a bag of their finely sifted wheat flour. Boy, that is some good stuff.

photo 5 (2)

The bonus about biscuits is that they freeze really well. I did the biscuit dough Thursday night. I rolled it, cut the biscuits, and then froze them. I’ll bake them off Saturday just before the market. Of course we had to sample – I can’t sell you something without trying it first. I enjoyed my sample with just a little Black Dog Acres honey right out of the oven and it was sublime.

And I even used my OHIO cookie cutter. You can’t say no to these babies!

photo 11

Last week we had Pumpkin Scones with a Brown Butter Glaze. I still have plenty of pumpkin puree so if I’m ambitious enough Friday night post-day job I may whip up another batch.

And of course we’ll have eggs. The ladies are really slowing down just yet.

photo 12

See you Saturday for community and fresh, local, good eats!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

