Last Outdoor Market Already?!

Saturday marks the final day of the outdoor Haymaker Farmers’ Market. Where does the time go?! It seems like just yesterday Diane and I were setting up for the first market of the season.

To say goodbye to summer I’ve been working on some of my very favorite jams this week.

Sour Cherry Jelly

photo 1This is an all-time favorite of mine and it seems like it was a favorite of yours too! I sold out of Sour Cherry Jelly not once. Not twice. But three times! But now it’s baaaaaaack.

Vanilla Balsamic Cherry Jam

photo 2Back in July I made cherry syrup and fruit leather with balsamic vinegar and vanilla. Both were incredible. I loved the flavors so much that I promised myself I would revisit them. I revisited them this week.

But instead of syrup and fruit leather I’m making a jam. Vanilla Balsamic Cherry Jam is delicious. And I’ll have some for sale on Saturday.

I also roasted some pumpkin this week – a killer winter luxury pie pumpkin from Birdsong Farm.

pumpkin2I roasted it for about an hour and then let it cool overnight. The next night I scooped all of the flesh into my food processor and made some pumpkin puree. This stuff is really good! I highly recommend stopping by Birdsong Farm and picking up a winter luxury pie pumpkin.

photo 5Pumpkin butter is delicious. And several of you have suggested I make it for sale at the market. Sorry folks but the USDA says no can do!

But I’ve been brainstorming this week and I have a few other pumpkin ideas up my sleeve.

So I just listed several reasons why you should come see us Saturday at the final outdoor Haymaker Farmers’ Market – Sour Cherry Jelly, Vanilla Balsamic Cherry Jam, and mystery pumpkin treats.

I know it’s probably going to be cold and maybe even snowy on Saturday but bundle up and come see us all down on Franklin Street. Come say good bye to an awesome season.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Outdoor Market Already?!

  1. Pingback: A Homemade Holiday | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

