Break out the jams!

Last week Breakneck Ami hooked me up with a lot of ground cherries. I was super grateful! But then, as I started husking them, I cursed her a little. 🙂

photo 1Ground cherries are unique and delicious and I didn’t want to use them all at once so I just worked with half of what she gave me to start. And I just did a super simple jam.

Ground cherries + sugar + lemon juice = Breakneck Ground Cherry Jam

photo 2This is pretty darn tasty and I’ll have some for sale Saturday at the market.

And since I’ve been slacking so much lately I decided I needed at least one more new jam this week. So, I pulled 4lbs. of blueberries from the freezer.

Blueberries + Black Dog Acres honey + Stotler’s Orchard apple + lemon juice

photo6Blueberry Spread

I did 4lbs berries: 2lbs honey and I added a chopped apple for the natural pectin. Apples are LOADED with pectin and can really help a jam or spread set up. Plus, the apples are killer right now so I thought, “Why not toss one in to the mix?” (I also ate one while I stirred the spread). And I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon towards the end because I thought it needed just a touch of acidity.

Blueberry Spread will be available Saturday at the market as well and it’s really good so you should stop and pick some up.

Back to apples – right now it is the peak of apple season in Northeast Ohio. I love apples.I love when you bite into a cool, crisp apple and the tartness almost bites you back. Delicious and truly one of life’s simple pleasures.

I also really, really love our local orchard. Have you ever been to Stotler’s Orchard in Randolph? If not, you should really check them out. They’re on Laubert Rd. just off of St. St. 44. They do pick your own and already picked apples and they have quite a variety.

They also do fresh pressed cider (I loooooooove fresh pressed apple cider. Especially warm in a mug with some spiced rum – seriously one of the best things about fall in Ohio). And they also have really, really killer doughnuts.

Bottom line – go check out Stotler’s Orchard. And also come see us Saturday morning at the Haymaker Farmers’ Market. The season is winding down but there is still loads of great stuff at the market including our Breakneck Ground Cherry Jam and our Blueberry Spread.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

