Help! I need some jelly jars!

I hope you just sang that to the tune of the Beatles’ “Help.” I did.

I need some help friends. Due to Pinterest and crafty crafters mason jars are becoming increasingly expensive.

It is my biggest expense and it’s getting more and more expensive.

I’m already offering 50 cents off of each new jam purchase if you return a clean jar. Did you know that? If not, please bring your used jars and get 50 cents off of your next jam!

My new strategy – I’ll buy them from you. Do you have 4oz or 8oz jelly jars that you don’t want or need? If so bring them to the market and I’ll pay you 50 cents per jar.

Or we could barter for jam if you’d prefer that over the cash.

Won’t you, please, please help me?

photo (2)

PS. This is a White Peach and Red Raspberry Jam. Mmm….

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help! I need some jelly jars!

  1. Monica Dague says:

    Liz,
    I’m having the same problem! The best place I can find online is Fillmore Container.
    http://www.fillmorecontainer.com/8-oz-Square-Mason-Jars-Regular-Mouth-P36.aspx
    Good luck!
    Monica

    • Monica,

      Sorry you’re struggling too. Rats! I checked Fillmore but the cheapest jars come without lids and bands so I’d have to buy those separately. I crunched the numbers and with the cost of the lids and bands and shipping it worked out to almost $1 per jar. The Ball brand with lids & bands are cheaper there but the shipping is what gets ya’. The cheapest I have seen is Menard’s ($8-$8.50/doz but an hour away) or Wal-Mart.

      Maybe next year, early in the season, the two of us could go in together for a serious bulk buy. A whole pallet or something! Just ship them to one house and maybe save some money that way. Let’s revisit this in May!!

      -Lizette

Leave a Reply

