More Stone Fruits!

Peaches and plums this week folks!

Last Thursday I picked up another peck of peaches from my gals at Huffman Fruit Farm at the Highland Square Farmers’ Market. They also had some good looking plums so I got a quart of those too.

And then Friday I hit up Rogers Flea Market with some friends for a little treasure hunting, Ohio’s best beef jerky, and people watching and I came across Morning Dew Orchards. I couldn’t pass up their plums. So I bought two quarts.

So this week we’ll have three new batches of jam: Plum – Straight Up, Just Peachy, and That’s Just Plum Peachy.

First one up with Plum – Straight Up.

I love plums. I like the crack of the skin when you bite into one and I love the tartness and texture that the skins bring to jams.

ImagePlums + sugar + lemon juice = Plum – Straight Up Jam.

Image

Then I moved on to the peaches. I love peaches too but peeling them is such a pain in the a$$. But I do it cuz I don’t want fuzzy skins in my jam.

Sometimes when it’s late and I’m still jamming and my music mix has ended I read a little while jamming. This week I finished up Julie Powell’s Cleaving. Meh. It was just ok. It did make me super hungry for a good steak though.

Peaches + sugar + lemon juice = Just Peachy Jam.

Image

I cut my fruit into wedges when jamming – I don’t do a small chop or mash them first. I brought these peaches to a boil and let them cook for about 5-7 minutes. Then I took them off the heat, skimmed the foam, and mashed up the fruit with my potato masher. I leave big chunks though. I like chunky jam.

And finally, That’s Just Plum Peachy Spread.

ImageSpreads are made with honey instead of sugar. The ratio here was was 2 1/2 lbs fruit to 1 lb. honey. I got this honey from Karen of Kountry Dreamer at the Haymaker Farmers’ market. She has good honey. Go say hello to Karen and pick some up!

Plums + peaches + honey + lemon juice = That’s Just Plum Peachy Spread.

ImageI do the same 2:1 (or 3:1 depending on the sweetness of the fruit) ratio of fruit to sweet so I use honey and sugar interchangeably.

Stop by and see us this Saturday at the Haymaker Farmers’ Market if you’re a fan of jammed stoned fruits!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

