If I had my little way I’d eat peaches everyday….

As I was peeling the last of the peaches I commented on the fact that while I love peaches I love nectarines just a little bit more. Mike disagreed and then proceeded to quote from the worst movie ever made, “I could eat a peach for hours.” Bleck!

Since I love peaches and since I really, really love nectarines I put them together and made Stoned Fruit Jam.

First, the fruit.

Image

I followed the Blue Chair 2-3 day technique. I put all the fruit in a container, added the sugar and shook the bowl a bit (but never stirred) and then topped with fresh lemon juice (again, no stirring).  This sat in my fridge undisturbed for two days.

And then I jammed it.

Image

 You know the drill by now – into the jars, wipe the tops, add the lids and bands, process in a water bath canner.

blog2Stone Fruit Jam is really, really good. I’d say it’s the best jam I’ve made yet this season. Delicious. I had some in yogurt and it was off the charts.

And then tonight I finally finished up the peaches.

I did a Ginger Peach Spread.

gingerpeach4And then I ended on a high note with a Peach Blackberry Jam.

blog3Check out these peach chunks. Mmm…..

peachblack4I have loads of new peach jams and spreads this week so if you like peaches you’re going to want to stop by and see us at the market this Saturday. I have Peach Vanilla Spread, Peach Jalapeno Jam, Wild Turkey Peach, Stoned Fruit Jam, Ginger Peach Spread, and Peach Blackberry Jam.

Whew! It’s been a very peachy week.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I had my little way I’d eat peaches everyday….

  1. Pingback: 234/365: National Eat A Peach Day* | Eat My Words

Leave a Reply

