Oh yea, it’s a wild one….

We have wild blackberries all over the place. We’ve been picking them for a while now. I’ve made cobblers (including Mike’s birthday cobbler), we’ve eaten them with milk and sugar, I’ve frozen several pounds, and tonight I jammed 3lbs of them.

Image

Berries, sugar, vanilla, lemon juice and zest.

Cook it on high for a long time. Skim the foam.

Image

Taste test. Freezer test. Pour it into jars and process it.

Image

After work, and several hours before jamming, I swung by the Highland Square Market and snagged a couple of pecks of peaches from Huffman Fruit Farm. My timing was impeccable and I arrived right in the middle of a damn torrential downpour! But Barb still got out in the rain and dug under her tarps for my peaches. Thanks Barb!

Image

These are redhavens – an early peach variety – and they’ll need a couple of days on the counter to ripen up before I can jam them. I have big plans for these peaches. And I’ll probably get another peck or two of a different variety in a couple of weeks.

I also snagged two quarts of their nectarines and ate two on the drive home. They are SO GOOD. I jammed some of these last year and it was divine. It was my very favorite jam of 2012. I’ll get a peck or two of these babies next time too.

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

