Respect your elders

Elderberries. They’re a big pain in the ass. Kinda like some of my elders. Ha!

We found loads of them growing around the farm so we harvested quite a bit last night. We rinsed them, plucked them from the stems, and rinsed them again. With both of us working it took a little over an hour and we ended up with 4lbs of elderberries.

Image

At first I thought I would make jelly but Mike said, “I like seeds in jam. Make a jam.” So I did a jam.

Image

I cooked the berries with some sugar, lemon juice and zest, and a little apple juice to help the jam set (elderberries are a pretty low pectin fruit).

While jamming I was also working on a batch of bread and butter pickles (that’s the brine in the front left of the photo). I managed to get 10 pints of those done tonight too.

Image

I liked the taste of this jam but thought there were too many seeds. I skimmed out about 1/3 or so and then my ASSistant helped me get the jam into the jars.

Image

I like the taste of this one a lot. Even though elderberries are a huge pain in the ass they are pretty darn tasty. While we were harvesting we found plenty that still needed to ripen so I’ll be able to do another batch in a couple of weeks. I think I’ll do a seedless jelly the second time around.

If you like elderberries stop by and see us this Saturday at the Kent Haymaker Farmers’ Market!

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

