Old Timey Tuesday: The Bicycle Edition

My cousin Amy recently gave me an old photo album chock full of gems! Amy’s dad and my grandpa were brothers and they grew up in the house we’re living in now.

Among the gems I found this awesome photograph of my Great Grandpa Roy and my Great Grandma Verna in the driveway. Unfortunately the young girl is not identified and the photograph is undated.

Image

Fast forward several years to 1960 and here is my Aunt Deb (left) and my Aunt Jackie (right) on bicycles.

Image

Fast forward a few more years to the early 1990s and here is my youngest brother Nick (left) and my cousin Mike (right) in the same spot. Not exactly bicycles but close enough.

Image

And here is what that spot looks like now.

Image

The small building straight back is what I’ve always known as “the playhouse.” There used to be three of four of these buildings back in the field and they served as chicken coops. If you scroll back up the first photo and the 1960s photo you can see them back and to the left.

The small white building right behind Aunt Deb was the smokehouse. You can see it in the photo of Roy and Verna too. back in the old days they smoked their own meats. Pretty rad. And something we should probably bring back! Sadly, that building was crumbling by the time I entered the scene in the early 1980s and it has since fallen down.

The larger white building behind Aunt Jackie and to the right of “the playhouse” in the newer photo is “the wood shed.” You won’t see it in the photo of Roy and Verna because it wasn’t there at that time. “The wood shed” used to be located just off the back of the house and it was later moved to its current location.

And here’s Great Grandpa Roy riding a bicycle in front of the chicken coop. I assume chickens were housed here in addition to the coops that became “the playhouse.” (Hey family – can anyone clarify the chicken housing during this time?)

Image

And here is what that spot looks like now.

ImageI guess the more things change the more they stay the same, huh?

And for good measure – here is a photograph of Mike as a kid on a bike in his backyard. Today is his actual birthday. Happy 30th (for real this time).

Image

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Timey Tuesday: The Bicycle Edition

  1. jobik kerbag says:

    love.

  2. Pingback: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

