Wait! Make that 5 new flavors of jam!

Remember I said I would have 4 new flavors of jam at the market this Saturday? Hold up! Make that 5 new flavors. And that 5th flavor – it’s good stuff.

I ran out of Maker’s Mark last week when I made my Sip of Bourbon Black Raspberry Jam so I made a quick trip to the state store. With all this recent bird talk I thought some Wild Turkey was in order. Dr. Turk is a Bourbon Red after all. 

Image

Image

Wild Turkey Cherry Jam is the latest flavor. It’s gooooooood.

It was a boozy Thursday. I still had plenty of tart cherries to deal with and my pal Ginnie conveniently left behind a bottle of Bulleit so…….

Image

I did a very light simple syrup. Once the sugar was dissolved and the liquid was just starting to simmer and thicken I pulled it off the heat and poured in a little vanilla. I poured the liquid into the jars about 3/4 of the way up and then topped them with the bourbon. These should be pretty tasty by Mike’s 30th birthday bonanza next weekend.

And I had more cukes to tackle. Ugh! I can’t keep up!

We recently ran out of last year’s bread and butter pickles and Mike says we can eat hamburgers again until I make some more. The recipe I used last year was excellent (shout out to the Haymaker Market manager Kelly!) but it takes some time. I cheated and did a bread and butter quick pickle.

Image

Meh. These are ok. Maybe they’ll get better. This weekend I’ll have to suck it up and make some real pickles.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

