Chery Bomb!

Hello world I’m your wild girl. I’m your ch ch ch ch ch cherry bomb….

Saturday after the Haymaker Farmers’ Market Diane and I headed to Hiram to Monroe Orchards to pick cherries. Oh. My. Goodness! Monroe Orchards is officially my new favorite place.

The trees were LOADED with cherries.

Image

I have never picked cherries before. Well, that is not entirely true. When I was a wee little kiddo my grandparents had some sour cherry trees at the farm. I remember getting in the bucket of the loader tractor with my mom and picking them. Sadly, the trees are gone now. But this trip to Monroe’s totally has me jazzed about planting fruit trees.

So, sweetheart cherries. We picked a lot. A whole lot. Thirty pounds to be exact.

Image

It’s like we couldn’t stop. At one point Diane said, “You’re going to have to tell me to quit Liz.” But I couldn’t! Just look at these gems!

Image

Incredible!

But you know what is not incredible? Pitting cherries. Pitting cherries is not incredible.

Image

Diane and I split the pick and each took home about 15 lbs of cherries. I pitted in three different sessions. Breaks are required; my hand was cramping up! I found that sweet little cherry pitter at an antique mall for like $1 a few years back. It was helpful. And the vodka tonic just off the top of the page in the left of the photo was also helpful.

We ate quite a few and spit pits at each other. (My best shot was Mike’s forehead. He later got me right in the ear). And I have some in the fridge just waiting to become mint cherry jam. And of course I froze a ton for future jams and various other sweet treats.

Oh, and the best thing – after the market we bartered some jam for goat cheese with our friends at  Lucky Penny so I did a batch of Jeni’s roasted cherry and goat cheese ice cream.

Image

So. Freakin’. Good.

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chery Bomb!

  1. Pingback: Jams, jams, and more jams | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

