Old Timey Tuesday

Then:

Image

Now:

Image

If you’re familiar with the farm then you know this is the entrance to the ceramic room. In the late 1970s my grandma and aunt started a ceramic business. I remember there were always ladies in the basement painting Christmas trees, drinking coffee, and laughing. 

The construction of this beautiful sandstone entryway and the tiered flower beds took place in the early 1990s (the photos are dated 1993). But even though I was 13 I have no recollection at all of what this entryway looked like prior to the sandstone.

Speaking of sandstone – check this out.

Image

That’s my grandpa hauling in materials on the loader (the tractor we now own). According to Mike pieces of sandstone this nice are crazy expensive and would never in a million years be in our budget – good thing they came with the place!

And all the greenery in the now picture – we haven’t done a lick of work to this space yet. The irises have already finished blooming (I should’ve taken the photo sooner – rats!) but new things are coming up all the time. I love the ground cover in the tiered beds and I’ve also found some oregano and wild strawberries in there.

The beds need cleaned out a bit and weeded and I’m sure Mike will get to it eventually. As for now, I’m just enjoying all the green.

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

