Old Timey Tuesday

Mike and I are the third generation of my family to live on the farm. THREE generations! My family has been consistency living and working on this property since the early 1920s. I can’t even describe how much I LOVE that we are here and we’re doing our best to make my grandparents and great grandparents proud.

Speaking of great grandparents – check out this incredible photograph of my great grandmother Verna Belle doing the laundry on the side porch.

Image

  Here is what the side porch looks like now – roughly ninety years later.

Image

I’m not exactly sure when the porch was enclosed. I learned that when Verna Belle and Roy (my great grandpa) got new windows in the house they used the old windows to do the porch. My guess is the 1940s but I have no evidence.

In the first photograph you can see the cistern and water pump to the right of the image. The old cistern is still there but now it’s enclosed with brick.

The windows don’t open which is a real drag. Our hope is to one day have screens in there so we can get a nice breeze while we sit on our porch swing and sip iced tea.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

