As long as there is whiskey in the world….

There are many choices in this life that we don’t get to make.
Like who’s your pa and where your from and when the leaves are down it’s time to rake.

But you can choose your drinking partner.
And mine ain’t from Tennessee.
Yes, it’s straight Kentucky bourbon for me.
Oh, it’s sweet Kentucky bourbon for me.

Those are not my words. They are Murder By Death‘s words. They love whiskey. I would be a huge poser if I said I loved whiskey. I am a gin girl though I am neither rich nor on a diet.

While I won’t be enjoying a bourbon neat anytime soon I do enjoy subtle undertones. Specifically, the subtle undertone of booze in foods – especially dessert. This got me thinking I should probably make some boozy jam.

My aunt just gave me 10+ lbs. of frozen blackberries from last summer’s harvest. The plan was to make wine but they just never got around to it and I gladly accepted the extremely generous gift.

Bourbon and blackberries sounded pretty promising.

I weighed out 4lbs. of berries and mixed them with 1lb. (2 cups) sugar and let it macerate overnight. Maceration is important. It softens the fruit and creates a ton of juice and I think is the first step to an exceptional jam.

On day two I added the berries and juice to my dutch oven and added two more cups of sugar, a split/scraped vanilla bean, the juice of one lemon and about 1/4 cup of Maker’s Mark.

Image

This cooked and bubbled for a long time. I tasted it periodically and added more booze a couple times. All told I think his jam has a little over 1/2 cup of bourbon in it. It doesn’t taste like alcohol but there is definitely a smoothness that warms you up.

Shot of Bourbon Blackberry will be available this Saturday at the Haymaker Farmers’ Market and I’m sure it will show up again once the blackberries are in season. I’m thinking a boozy peach is in my future. too.

Image

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As long as there is whiskey in the world….

  1. Viper says:

    Hrm, might have to try to get to Kent tomorrow … sounds tasty.

  2. Pingback: More berries! More bourbon! | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

