Rhubarb. A Triology.

It’s Sunday night somehow already. Sheesh! How the heck did that happen?

This weekend was mildly productive. The cold temperature had me down though so I’ll admit I wussed out a bit on Sunday and didn’t get as much done as I would’ve liked. C’est la vie. I needed a nap.

Friday night I scored more rhubarb from my cousin Amy. Woohoo!

I decided on a Rhubarb Ginger Spread for the third round.

ImageSpreads mean that the sugar in the jam is honey. Honey provides a sweet, smooth finished product and I love making (and eating) spreads. Lucky for me I had some really delicious honey in the larder. Black Dog Acres is a vendor at the Kent Haymaker Farmers’ Market and Kristen has great stuff – especially her honey. Delicious.

I grated a bunch of ginger and added it to my rhubarb along with the honey. I stirred this up and put it in the fridge to macerate overnight.

Image

See all that liquid in the third photo? THAT is why macerating your fruit makes a superior jam. I don’t need to add any additional liquid at all. All of that came from the rhubarb. Nice.

At this point I tasted and decided to add more ginger and a bit more honey. Then I added the juice of a lemon and got to jammin’.

Image

Mmm. This is good stuff. Tart and sweet with just enough kick from the ginger. I really like this one.

Here is a truckload of hay. ImageI picked this up Sunday morning from a local farmer for our goats. I am looking forward to growing our own hay in the future.

We worked on the goat fence a bit more on Sunday but the cold weather really had us down and we didn’t finish their new living space. We’re close though and hopefully we can knock it out a night this week.

But check out what we found while fencing – a monster morel! Look at that baby! Huge!

ImageIt was like right underfoot. Then we looked all over under the same apple tree but didn’t find anymore. Rats. I’ll take this one giant morel any day though. Woohoo!

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rhubarb. A Triology.

  1. Pingback: Opening Day! | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

