Black Raspberry Rhubarb in the house!

Remember I chopped up some rhubrab and mixed it with sugar and some black raspberries and put it in the fridge? My plan was to macerate it over night and then jam on Wednesday. However, a good book club discussion and a kick ass grilled cheese made for a jam-less evening.

That’s ok. I had a Thursday night jam session instead.

Image

Notice the foam in the second photo? Some suggest adding butter to your jam to reduce foaming. While I am an avid butter lover I’m not really down with that idea. I prefer to keep my jams vegan friendly (unless of course I’m making a spread which uses honey). Plus I just can’t rid of a nagging feeling that the butter somehow adulterates the jam. I don’t know. Call me crazy but I’d rather skim the foam with a big spoon any day.

Instead of commercial pectin I used a cup of apple juice and the juice and zest of two lemons. While it has a looser consistency (which I prefer anyways) it still passed the freezer test and the temperature test. And of course my personal taste test.

This yielded quite a bit so I had to do two rounds of processing.

Image

A few tools of the (sticky) trade.

Image

The Black Raspberry Rhubarb is pretty darn good. Don’t forget to come see us on May 25 on the opening day of the Kent Haymaker Farmers’ Market!

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Raspberry Rhubarb in the house!

  1. Pingback: Opening Day! | Barton Farms and Gardens

Leave a Reply

