Baby leeks

Baby leeks are delicious. Since they’re tiny you can eat a lot of the green stuff unlike more mature leeks where the green is tough as nails.

Saturday I picked up two bunches of baby leeks from Birdsong Farm at the Kent Haymaker Farmers’ Market.

ImageMake sure you wash them really well cuz a lot of dirt gets down in them. After I washed them and trimmed them I blanched them in boiling water for about 3 minutes. Then I drained them and let them dry on a dish towel while I worked on some other things.

I tossed them with a little olive oil, some chopped garlic, and some dried thyme (fresh is best but we don’t have an herb garden at the new place yet so I used some of the stuff I dried last season). Then I roasted them for about 10 minutes or so and finished ’em with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Mmm!

ImageThat other stuff? That is some cheesy broccoli quinoa. I came across the recipe the other day and thought I’d give it a shot. Pretty tasty.

We picked up some leek seeds the other day and I’m looking forward to getting them in the ground. The garden is tilled and the seeds are started. Now it’s just a waiting game.

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

