Go big or go home!

There are loads of things that need fixing and updating but we can live with most of them. The one thing I could not live with – the kitchen sink. 

ImageIt is the worst. It is super shallow and it’s impossible to wash large pots and pans in there. Here is another image for scale.

Image

The other day I was struggling to wash some baking sheets and my 6 quart dutch oven without splashing water everywhere and I thought to myself, “What the hell am I going to do come canning season?” When it’s August and I’m canning every single night of the week I need a big sink for pecks of tomatoes and peaches and whatever else I decide to stick in jars. Not to mention my canning pots and victorio strainer and food mill and whatever else I’ll be using. There is no way this tiny sink could handle the whirlwind that is my favorite time of the year.

This tiny sink had to go.

Mike said, “Well we won’t be remodeling the kitchen for a while but I suppose we could at least get a new sink.” So I started researching sinks. I envisioned a huge, single bowl, cast iron/porcelain finished, apron front farmhouse sink. Turns out new ones run between $1,500-$2,000. Rats.

Instead Mike found a nearly new, double bowl, deep stainless steel sink at an auction for $75.

So he ripped out the old sink.

Image

Hey, check it out. There is our floor. I wonder what it looks like without the red paint?

Image

Of course the new sink didn’t just slide right in. No, no, no. That would be too easy for us Bartons. But thankfully it wasn’t too much larger and Mike was able to use his multi-tool to trim away some of the wood/counter to make the sink fit.

Image

It’s not my dream sink but it will do. It’s gigantic in comparison to the old one and washing some big dishes last night was no problem at all.

In other news, we found some rhubarb! Kick ass.

Image

 

 

 

About Barton Farms and Gardens

My husband and I are bringing an old family farm back to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Go big or go home!

  1. SV Mooberry says:

    Glad to hear that this went semi-smoothly. I did something similar recently (bought a stainless sink at restore for $12 to replace cruddy ceramic one), and the original sink hole was a little too large and the water and drain hook ups didn’t match up right. Ended up spending another $60 in drain and plumbing pieces to get it to fit right. Not as easy as planned, but few things are.

    And yay for rhubarb!

Leave a Reply

